If you’re ordered to pay child support every month, you aren’t
supposed to simply write a check to your ex and call your order fulfilled.
In fact, you want the government to know and track that you’ve made
your payment should your spouse ever decide to claim that you haven’t
been paying in order to try to get you in more trouble. As such, you’ll
actually make your payment to the Nevada Office of Child Support Enforcement,
who will make a record of your payment and then distribute it appropriately.
Here are the different ways you can make your payment to the child support office.
There are two ways to make your child support payment by phone. First,
you can call the State Collection and Disbursement Unit (SCaDU) directly
by dialing 1-844-855-6152 and speaking with a payment specialist. The
office accepts both Visa and MasterCard and there are no fees for using
this method, but you must call between 8 AM and 5 PM pacific standard
time, Monday through Friday. This office is closed on weekends.
Second, if you cannot call during business hours, there is a second phone
option for making payments. The SCaDU is contracted with an independent
vendor who allow you to make payments at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days
a week. This system is fully automated and accepts Visa, MasterCard, and
Discover, but charges $7.95 for each transaction, and each transaction
is also limited to up to $750.
You can make your payments online at any time as well through the Division
of Welfare and Supportive Services website. This is a quick and easy way
of having your payment processed, accepts multiple payment methods, and
has no supplementary fees. Both non-custodial parents and employers can
use this option to make payments on behalf of their workers.
You can send your support payment via cashier’s check, money order,
or business check to the SCaDU directly using their mailing address: SCaDU
PO Box 98950 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8950. Be sure to include your full name,
your social security number, and your child support case number with your
payment so it can be properly applied.
Finally, you can make your payment in-person either at the Child Support
Center of Southern Nevada, located in the Greystone Building on East Flamingo
Road in Las Vegas.
You can also make your payment in cash at retail locations throughout Nevada,
Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah,
and Washington. There’s a convenience fee of $3.95 to utilize this
option, and you’re limited to $4,000 per transaction. Be sure to
inform the clerk that your payment is for child support, and be prepared
to provide your nine-digit case number and your Unique Person Identifier.
You can find a list of retail locations that accept these payments
on the DWSS website.
Consult with a Las Vegas family attorney to learn more about your rights
as a parent paying child support.
Call Leavitt Law Firm today at (702) 996-6052 for more information.